A Daddy Daughter Bond

lyla-daddy-bw

When I pick you up you press your cheek tightly against mine, you pat my face and pull my hair, your affection knows no bounds. When I get in from work your smile lights up the room and brightens up my day. Then we play together for half an hour and you sit on your mat with your toys. I ask you about your day and you make lots of noises that to most people sound like gobbledegook but I know exactly what you mean.

Then it is bath time which is the highlight of my day, you lay on your back in the water making cooing sounds and telling me more stories and I sing songs to you while you play in the water. Mummy and I take it in turns to put you to bed and when it’s my turn I get the biggest sense of protection from putting you down in your cot all safe and sound to sleep.

You see we have a bond you and me, it was formed the second that you were born and the Midwife held you up in the air so that I could tell Mummy that she had given birth to a little girl. Then I held you in my arms for the first time and it felt like I had known you forever. As I stood there in the theatre with you in my arms my heart swelled with pride and I realised that I had just been given the most important job a person could ever be given; to be a parent.

Whether it is sitting watching your first ever nativity play with a proud tear in our eyes or holding your hand as I walk you down the aisle there will be hundreds of proud moments like this in our lifetime and they are the reward for doing this important job.

This bond of ours will only get stronger and will never falter; it’s a special bond between a Daddy and his Daughter.

lyla-daddy-bw-2

Post by Daddy.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. tinmccarthy says:

    awwwww. Dads and their daughters are lovely and important. I have four daughters and they have a great daddy and even when I want to throttle him I know that I am lucky to have him be their loving daddy!

    Thanks for linking up to #globalblogging

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was such a lovely post to read, thank you for sharing! I love watching my husband with our girls. There is definitely a bond that us moms sometimes don’t understand. Its a beautiful sight! #globalblogging

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou for that amazing feedback put a huge smile on my face 😀 #globalblogging

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment